Civale Selected to FCBL Hall of Fame

WEYMOUTH, Mass. (September 14, 2020) -- The Futures Collegiate Baseball League (FCBL) is proud to unveil the first class of inductees to its newly created Hall of Fame. Former Bravehearts pitcher Aaron Civale has been selected for induction in the inaugural class.

Civale, a current pitcher for the Cleveland Indians and native of  E. Windsor, CT, was a member of the Worcester Bravehearts 2014 championship team where he appeared in seven games, starting four. He posted a 1.52 ERA with a .97 WHIP on the season and struck out 20 batters in 23.2 innings pitched. He was selected to the Futures League All Star Game that season as well..
Aaron Civale is a product of Northeastern University and played for the Huskies from 2014 - 2016. The Indians drafted him in the third round (92nd overall) of the 2016 MLB Draft.
In a spring training game against the Boston Red Sox in 2015, he turned heads when he struck out Sox stars David Ortiz, Hanley Ramirez, Mike Napoli and Xander Bogaerts.

He made his Major League debut on June 22, 2019 against the Detroit Tigers and pitched 6 innings of 2-hit shutout baseball while striking out six. In 19 career games since then, he has a 6-9 record and a 3.11 ERA in 115.2 innings pitched.

The 2020 Futures League Hall of Fame class includes 13 individuals who have, in a variety of ways, contributed to the league’s creation and continued success over its first 10 years of existence in New England. Commissioner Joe Paolucci made Monday's announcement.

The group will be honored during a Hall of Fame dinner and ceremony following the first-ever FCBL Golf Tournament, which will be held on Friday, October 9 at Cyprian Keyes Golf Club in Boylston, Mass. The dinner will begin at 6:30 p.m. Guests can purchase tickets to the golf outing or dinner here.

Foremost in the inaugural class is Adam Keenan, the former Seacoast Mavericks player whose legacy lives on to this day with the Sportsmanship and Scholarship Award that bears his name. The award was instituted following Keenan’s passing due to an undiagnosed rare heart condition called Arrhythmogenic Right Ventricular Cardiomyopathy (ARVC) in 2011 and has been bestowed upon the player who exemplifies the outstanding attitude, character and sportsmanship that is synonymous with Adam Keenan’s legacy ever since.

The class also includes the eight “Founding Fathers” who worked together to create the Futures League and offer a new summer baseball experience focused on serving New England. Leading this group is Chris Hall, the league’s first commissioner who helped to create and oversaw one of the country’s fastest-growing leagues until Paolucci took over following the 2018 season. In addition to Hall, the group includes owners and operators of the league’s original four franchises: Drew Weber, Tim Bawmann and Jon Goode of the Nashua Silver Knights, Dave Hoyt of the Seacoast Mavericks, Chris Carminucci and Darren Harrison-Pannis of both the Torrington Titans and Martha’s Vineyard Sharks, and Van Schley of the Brockton Rox.

The North Shore Navigators’ GM from 2012-19, Bill Terlecky rounds out the “Administrators” honored in this first-ever class. Terlecky completed a 41-year career in the game of baseball with the Navigators before losing his long battle with cancer in October of 2019. Terlecky transformed baseball in the City of Lynn and served as a trusted friend and mentor to so many in the Futures League.

The final two Hall of Famers have - like Civale - advanced their careers from the Futures League all the way to Major League Baseball. Tyler Bashlor played for the Torrington Titans in 2012 and has spent parts of the last three seasons in The Show, most recently with the Pittsburgh Pirates. A Boston College and Lexington, Mass., product, Chris Shaw is a member of the San Francisco Giants organization who helped the Nashua Silver Knights win their second straight Futures League championship in 2012.